Cape Elizabeth Capers Spring Athletes of the Year

TIERNAN LATHROP, Senior – Lacrosse

  • all american
  • WMC Class A/B all-star, first team
  • Captain

Lathrop hosted a clinic on how to get on goal and finish and his ability to rise to the occasion in the biggest moments helped the Capers repeat themselves as Class A state champions.

While Lathrop used his size and strength as calling cards, he also knew the game well and was disinterested to boot and the opposition just couldn’t keep up.

Lathrop, who also participated in football and alpine skiing in high school, followed the shoes of his older brothers Devon and Killian and made an immediate impact as a rookie, but it wasn’t his brothers who were his source of inspiration. original inspiration.

“I grew up watching the Thorecks (Griffin, Connor and Owen) play,” Lathrop said. “They were dominating and they were the reason I fell in love with lacrosse.”

After missing his second campaign due to COVID, Lathrop, now joined by his younger brother Keegan, played a vital role in a powerful Capers team in 2021, which went undefeated and crushed just about every foe en route to their very first class A. crown. Lathrop has scored 53 goals and added 20 assists.

He was even better this spring, scoring 57 goals, adding 25 assists, 54 rushing balls and 18 turnovers.

Highlights included three goals apiece in season-opening wins over Kennebunk and Gorham, six goals in a win at Scarborough, three goals in a win over Lewiston and nine goals in a win over South Portland.

In the Cape Elizabeth playoffs, Lathrop had four assists in a semi-final win over Scarborough, three goals in a regional final win over Thornton Academy, then he retired with four goals, two assists and a few game wins for good measure in the Capers. ‘ Class A state game victory over Falmouth.

“It’s awesome,” Lathrop said. “That’s exactly what we came for.”

Lathrop will play next year at Bryant University in Smithfield, Rhode Island, where he will once again join his brother Killian on the same team.

Players like Tiernan Lathrop, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Athlete of the Year, don’t come around very often. When they do, all you can do is marvel at the spectacle presented.

Coach Ben Raymond’s commentary“Tiernan is definitely one of our most athletic players, definitely our most athletic midfielder with a short stick that we’ve had in years. In terms of skills, he’s not just big and strong. He has a good shot, he can shoot both left and right. He moves the ball well. He can also play defense. He really is the complete package. He can do so many things. He is by far the most big matchup problem for anyone. I think Tiernan did a great job of continuing to improve his game. He made good decisions and passed the ball, but there were times when he had a vapor head in transition and no one was going to stop him.

Previous winners:

• 2021 Archie McEvoy (lacrosse)
* 2020 No season
• 2019 Max Patterson (lacrosse)
• 2018 Brendan Tinsman (baseball)
• 2017 Connor Thoreck and Owen Thoreck (lacrosse)
• 2016 RJ Sarka (lacrosse)
• 2015 Griffin Thoreck (lacrosse)
• 2014 Tom Feenstra (lacrosse)
• 2013 Adam Haversat (lacrosse)
• 2012 Will LeBlond (baseball)
• 2011 Cam Brown (baseball)
• 2010 Ben Brewster (lacrosse)
• 2009 André Guay (baseball)
• 2008 Zach Belden (lacrosse)
• 2007 Pat Murphy (baseball)
• 2006 Evan Bagley (lacrosse)
• 2005 Brett Brown (lacrosse)
• 2004 Garrett Currier (tennis)
• 2003 Alex Weaver (lacrosse)
• 2002 Mike DiFusco (lacrosse)

TORI HEWS, Senior – Track

  • Class B State Champion, 100
  • Class B State Champion, 200
  • WMC All-Star, First Team, 100
  • WMC All-Star, First Team, 200

Hews proved to be an outstanding sprinter, and her performance in the Class B state competition was a perfect punctuation mark for a memorable high school career.

Hews’ first outdoor season was during her junior year and she immediately caused a stir placing second in the 100, third in the 200 and being part of a 4×100 relay champion team at the Class B state meet. This winter indoors, Hews won the 55 and 200 at the Western Maine Conference meet, but did not compete in the United States.

This spring, although she wasn’t 100% physically, she went one step further and became an individual champion.

Hews was at her best in the playoffs, repeating as the conference champion in the 100, 200 and 4×100 relays.

At the Class B state meet, Hews was able to hold off Alayna Blier from Gardiner to win both the 100 (12.72 seconds) and 200 (26.53). She also ran the anchor leg of a champion 4×100 relay team (50.93) and a runner-up 4×400 relay team (4 minutes, 14.97 seconds).

“Winning the 100 and 200 in the United States, as well as anchoring the winning 4×100 relay team, was definitely a highlight of his season, but I think being part of the relay team 4×400 is where she really showed her mettle,” said Cape Elizabeth coach Doug Worthley.

At New England, Hews finished 20th in the 100 (13.07) and also competed in the 4×100 and 4×400 relays.

Hews plans to compete on track at Wheaton College in Norton, Massachusetts next year.

Tori Hews, Cape Elizabeth’s Spring Athlete of the Year, has had a huge impact on the Capers’ outdoor track and field program in a short time and has been a champion in every sense of the word.

Coach Doug Worthley’s Commentary“Tori is a great young woman. She’s a hard child not to love. She is always ready to do what needs to be done to help the team and sticks to the program. She has shown what a leader and team player she is and is committed to ensuring the success of the team. While struggling with shin splints for most of the season, she always seemed to come together and get the job done. She will be a huge asset to Wheaton’s track team and will be sorely missed.

Previous winners:

• 2021 Anna Cornell (softball)
* 2020 No season
• 2019 Karli Chapin (lacrosse)
• 2018 Darcy Cochran (track)
• 2017 Jessie Robicheaw (softball)
• 2016 Liv Clifford (tennis)
• 2015 Kate Bosworth (lacrosse)
• 2014 Abby McInerney (lacrosse)
• 2013 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)
• 2012 Lauren Steidl (lacrosse)
• 2011 Elin Sonesson (lacrosse)
• 2010 Gabe Donahue (softball)
• 2009 Colleen Martin (softball)
• 2008 Trish Thibodeau (softball)
• 2007 Maureen Kertes (softball)
• 2006 Clare Egan (track)
• 2005 Elise Moody-Roberts (track)
• 2004 Dana Riker (track)
• 2003 Leslie Harrison (track)
• 2002 Anna Lombard (lacrosse)

Sportswriter Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

” Previous

Next ”

Comments are closed.